UFC 294: Islam Makhachev vs. Alexander Volkanovski 2 Results & Highlights (10 AM ET)


UFC 294 takes place today from the Etihad Arena in Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates, and MMA News has you covered with all the results and highlights!

The promotion’s latest pay-per-view cardĀ has taken the Octagon back to the Middle East, and it’ll be a familiar face headlining proceedings on Yas Island almost exactly one year on from his crowning there.

After a cut suffered in training forced the withdrawal of Charles Oliveira less than two weeks out from fight night, UFC Lightweight Champion Islam Makhachev will instead run it back with the promotion’s long-reigning featherweight titleholder, Alexander Volkanovski, eight months on from their collision in Perth, Australia.

The co-headliner also underwent a major late change courtesy of an infected bursa on the right elbow of one-time middleweight title challenger Paulo Costa. In his place against the undefeated Khamzat Chimaev will be welterweight legend Kamaru Usman, who will get his first taste of 185-pound action in pursuit of a shot at two-division glory against former opponent Sean Strickland.

Elsewhere, light heavyweight contender Magomed Ankalaev will make the walk 10 months removed from a failed first title bid,Ā Muhammad Mokaev will shoot for a spot in the flyweight top 10 against one of the division’s most notable veterans, and a number of promising prospects will hope to make an impression on the PPV stage.

With that said, see below for the full UFC 294 card and broadcast information, and be sure to check back later for all the result and highlights!

UFC 294: Makhachev vs. Volkanovski 2 Full Card

Main Card (ESPN+ PPV, 2 p.m. ET/11 a.m. PT):

  • Lightweight Championship Main Event: Islam Makhachev (C) vs. Alexander VolkanovskiĀ 
  • Welterweight Co-Main Event: Kamaru Usman vs. Khamzat Chimaev
  • Light Heavyweight: Magomed Ankalaev vs. Johnny Walker
  • Middleweight: Ikram Aliskerov vs. Warlley Alves
  • Bantamweight: Said Nurmagomedov vs. Muin GafarovĀ 

Preliminary Card (ESPN+, 12 p.m. ET/9 a.m. PT):

  • Flyweight: Tim Elliott vs. Muhammad MokaevĀ 
  • Lightweight: Mohammad Yahya vs. Trevor PeekĀ 
  • Bantamweight: Javid Basharat vs. Victor Henry
  • Middleweight: Abu Azaitar vs. Sedriques Dumas

Early Preliminary Card (ESPN+, 10 a.m. ET/7 a.m. PT):

  • Lightweight: Mike Breeden vs. Anshul Jubli
  • Featherweight: Nathaniel Wood vs. Muhammad Naimov
  • Women’s Strawweight: Victoria Dudakova vs. Jinh Yu Frey
  • Middleweight: Sharabutdin Magomedov vs. Bruno Silva



Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *